‘Tis the Season To Be Wearing……..

Like a bad fruitcake that travels from house to house, another offbeat “tradition” of the holiday season is the ubiquitous Ugly Christmas Sweater, or UCS for short.

It’s that time of year when you’ll see all kinds of woven wonders, from life-sized fireplaces, dancing Santas, and lots of little bits of stuff all over the sleeves.  It’s like wearing a one of those horse statues with a clock in its side. But it wouldn’t be Christmas without one. ugly-tacky-christmas-sweater   ugly-snowman-christmas-sweater1   ugly-christmas-fashion-1

These are three examples of what I mean. Now I ask you, have you ever been known to sport something similar to the above? Really, I’m not against them, just always amazed at what comes out of someone’s imagination. UCS’s are definite attention-getters  

Yes, I was guilty of wearing one, as a young child, having to obey my parents. But even then, I knew it was something a bit off-kilter when it came to style.

My model has three-dimensional felt reindeer running diagonally across the navy and white knitted front, with a dancing Santa Claus driving a toy-laden sleigh. If that wasn’t enough, knitted into the bottom and cuffs were elves in purple and green—talk about busy! I reluctantly wore that UCS until I was 13, when I went on a fashion rebellion, and placed it way, way back in the closet.

I had my first UCS sighting last weekend, and it seemed that every day after that, I would see two or three more popping up  somewhere. I seen them on lots of people from toddlers to seniors, and everyone in between.

One thing I like is the fun attitude that people take, holding parties, contests, and all sorts of promos  It’s a warmhearted approach to something that we love to bash, but truly hold dear to our hearts—like that fruitcake.

About got2care

A Midwest, big-city Cultural Creative feminist, who believes that caring and creativity go together. Interests in my blogs can include: the green lifestyle, writing, educational reform, literary topics, and being creative.
This entry was posted in Holidays. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

