My Trash-busting

        One of the steps I’ve taken  in 2010 to a more connected, greener  lifestyle is kitchen composting.

       After years of throwing everything away in one receptacle, I’ve gotten a lot better. About a year and a half ago, serious recycling became a top priority, and now I can separate with the best of them. [more about that in another post] But getting into composting was yet another opportunity to move towards a zero-waste effort.

       Composting, as you know, will give my plants an enhanced soil structure, retain moisture, and do more than just throw it in a trash heap. With so many landfills getting filled up quickly, this is a logical step to take. I don’t know that approximately 70% of household waste is compostable, so we need to be more prudent about  disposables.

                                                                      

   Since I live in a big-city apartment, I won’t be using a huge  commericial composting bin that’s too expensive for my budget; instead, it’ll be a 32-gallon a homemade one created  from a Rubbermaid  trash bin. Fortunately, where I am  has a backyard, and I can place the bin on bricks in a secluded spot. Turning the compost will be easy, as the bin can be rolled very week or so. Starting this now, in winter, gives me a head start for the coming season. I’m really looking forward to the process–it’s just another way of connecting to the earth.

                                                                     

About got2care

A Midwest, big-city Cultural Creative feminist, who believes that caring and creativity go together. Interests in my blogs can include: the green lifestyle, writing, educational reform, literary topics, and being creative.
This entry was posted in Home & Garden, Waste and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

