The Biggest Loser…..

          In my efforts to live in a more eco-conscious manner, I’m happy to report that my household paper usage has  reduced by at least 80% from last year!

Save the planet...Back in the spring, I started keeping track of just how much paper towels were actually being used. Before then, my daily usage was part of the 300 tons of paper that went to landfills daily. It used to be common to go through a roll and a half every week, and I didn’t give it a second thought.

It’s a big shout-out to report that the roll of paper towels in my kitchen lasted 3 months [!] until shortly after the 4th of July. How did it happen?

        By using more cloth items that were washable, and paying more attention to just how much was being tossed. For instance, paper napkins were always part of my meals at home. But when I replaced them with cloth napkins, that brought the  disposable  rate way down. Those packs of 500 paper napkins are no longer on my shopping list.

      Also, whenever I did take-out, items like paper napkins and plastic cutlery were asked to be omitted. That was less waste for me to bring home

      BTW, a second roll  of paper towels lasted even longer–from July 7 to November 11–that’s a shade over FOUR months! Going on a “paperdiet” has worked wonders.

       Speaking of even more waste reduction, the same thing has occurred with that infamous garbage by the kitchen door. Now, there’s been more recycling over the last ten months–about 2:1–instead of plain ole’ trash. Taking out trash nearly every other day has slowed down to almost once a week, along with having a tall kitchen bag  of recyclables every 4-5 days.

          This is a far cry from the days when everything went into the trash bin. My mind immediately separates what items go where–paper, cans, proper plastics, boxes, etc.

About got2care

A Midwest, big-city Cultural Creative feminist, who believes that caring and creativity go together. Interests in my blogs can include: the green lifestyle, writing, educational reform, literary topics, and being creative.
This entry was posted in Greener Living, Ideas and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

